Its time for my morning tipple

Yikes, that sounds like I do early morning shots of tequila doesn’t it? For the record, I have not had a single tipple today, although in the interests of total honesty it is only 6:30 a.m. here.   I’m up early this morning thinking about the gazillions of brilliant ideas folks have shared over the years that help to make a sad and terrible situation better.

So with no further ado, here are some sticky situations that we quilters often come across along with some tips (and some links to tips)  that have saved my sanity a time or two.

  1. Pressing pinwheel and other bulky block intersections.  Do you suffer from severe block envy when you see all those perfectly flat blocks that many quilters are posting daily on Facebook and IG? I do, so naturally I went looking to see if I could learn the secret to their success.  Joan from “Winging it” has a method that I think is absolutely brilliant. She calls it furling and she explains exactly how to do it on this blog post.
  2. OMG my rotary cutter blade is as dull as a donkey and I don’t have a spare on hand.  Relax, chill, and read this post from Penny’s Hands.  Now take yourself into the kitchen and grab your tinfoil (that’s what we call aluminum foil here on PEI).  Just follow Penny’s instructions carefully, then continue gleefully cutting those strips.  Be aware though this tip won’t work if your blade was nicked because you accidentally dropped it on the floor a thousand times without the safety cover on…which I would never ever do.  Nosiree Bob, not me.
  3. Measure Twice, Cut Once…My husband is a killer wood carver and his best advice   is Measure Twice, Cut Once.  It sounds so simple when I write it down.  Maybe someday I will remember to do it.
  4. I spilled Red Wine on my Quilt….Don’t judge me, I didn’t do it on purpose.  It could happen to you too.  Click to visit Julie at the Crafty Quilter  and see what she suggests you do when an accident happens on a quilt, or a tablecloth. It works, I promise.
  5. Help Mom, how do I do this?  When you are looking for advice and your momma is not close by, (or like me, she is close by, but not a quilter) you should go here for the A whole whack of tips for quilters. I found 100 great tips right there and now they are all at your fingertips too.  You are so welcome!

Because this post has no photos, I decided to share a very cool quilt that I’d like to make someday. It’s from Sew Kind of Wonderful and if ever there was a quilt that was made for drinking wine under, this is it.  Here for your viewing pleasure is a link to the website if you absolutely must have a quilt to snuggle under while drinking wine…or tequila…or cider…just sayin.

Did you do something creative today?

 

 

6 responses to “Its time for my morning tipple”

  1. artisticsharon Avatar

    Hi Velda, it’s working now – Thanks!!!

    Like

  2. Velda at the Freckled Fox Quiltery Avatar

    Hi thanks for noticing this broken link. I fixed it and hope it works for you now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Velda at the Freckled Fox Quiltery Avatar

    I fixed that link. Thanks for pointing it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. piecefulwendy Avatar

    What a fun post to read, and I like that quilt’s unique design. I can’t open the quilting tips link either.

    Like

  5. patsystitch@gvtc.com Avatar
    patsystitch@gvtc.com

    Thanks for the tips, the quilt looks like a challenge, it would be for me but like it. So you make it, please!

    Like

  6. artisticsharon Avatar

    Hi Velda, thanks for sharing all these tips & links – I certainly need to use some of them!! Just fyi, when I click on the link in tip#5 it says “This site can’t be reached”.

    Like

I’m Velda

Welcome to my little corner of the Internet! Its dedicated to all things quilty and quirky…or anything else that strikes my fancy. I’m glad you took a few minutes out of your day to say hello. I am all about creativity, craftsmanship, and all things made by my own hands.

Let’s connect