April Showers bring May Flowers

Yes indeed, its almost April. I don’t know what its like where you live, but here on PEI, in Eastern Canada, Spring is finally starting to show her pretty face. We have a few crocus(es?) under the front window; and the tulips are starting to peek out of the ground in the flowerbed in the back yard. Its enough to make me smile…and think about all the pretty colours that mother nature will let loose in my garden in just a few short weeks.

What is your favourite spring flower? Do you have one? or like me, are you just happy to see the earth waking up again? I thought I would celebrate my Queen Bee month, by honoring those brave and beautifully delicate flowers that mark the first days of spring.

Here are some ahhhsome examples of flowers (taken from Pinterest…) I absolutely did not make any of these and cannot take any credit from their fabulous makers.

My wish list for April flowers is

  1. Use lots of bright contrasting solid fabrics for the blooms
  2. You can make flowers and stems, or just flowers….or just stems. Entirely up to you.
  3. Please use light BG fabrics in soft white, light cream, pale pink, or blue, or any other light shade that makes you think SPRING.
  4. Make two 12.5″ blocks, or eight 6″ blocks, or three 8″ blocks or whatever size you choose to bring your blooms to life.
  5. Trim if you like, but its not necessary.

And last but not least, here is a beautiful example of improv spring flowers.

If you have any questions, please feel free to give me a shout on our Facebook page, or PM me. Don’t overthink this!

I’m Velda

Welcome to my little corner of the Internet! Its dedicated to all things quilty and quirky…or anything else that strikes my fancy. I’m glad you took a few minutes out of your day to say hello. I am all about creativity, craftsmanship, and all things made by my own hands.

Let’s connect