I’m just a hunk, a hunk of burning love

Do you have a very favourite traditional quilt block?  I do….hands down, no questions asked,  its the churn dash block.  Its one of the first quilts I ever made, and it is possolutely the first one I pieced where HSTs were involved.

Over the years, I’ve collected a whole compendium of quilt books and patterns dedicated to churn dashes. I’ve posted about them again and again (13  to date, not including this post)…and I confess that anytime I don’t have a project underway, and I’m feeling a need to just sit and sew, this is my go-to block.  I love it because its easy as pie, quick as a wink and with just a few switch outs, you have yourself an awesomely astounding quilt block.

So you can imagine how excited I was, when Tara from The Quilt District asked me if I would review her brandy new “Churned Up” pattern.  Here is a picture of Tara’s version.  Does it not make your heart sing?  I knew it would! Mine too!

This is such a seriously fresh and fun take on a traditional block.  I don’t know about you, but this picture makes me smile every time I see it.  It’s like a surprise party  because different units pop out every time to clamor “look at me, I’m here too”.   You gotta love that.

Naturally I jumped at the chance to get my hands on this pattern.   I may have actually refused to put the roast in the oven until it was safely in my hands.  And then I’m pretty sure I refused to do the dishes because I couldn’t wait another second to get into my sewing room and start cutting fabric.

There are so many great things about this pattern, but first and foremost, it’s layer cake friendly….which is a very important consideration for me.  I recently started collecting layer cakes and am always excited to open one and start cutting it up.  Of course the pattern is also well-written, well-illustrated and Tara explains all the steps in a super organized way.  My heart is singing again.

Fortunately for me, this pattern popped into my life in December, right around the time I was reviewing patterns for pillow possibles for my sister, Donna.  We have this thing, where she always asks me for seasonal pillow forms to decorate the little teal church pew in her foyer….and I always say “Sure” then leave it to the last minute to make them.  Well not this year, no sirree bob, the minute I opened the package I knew that I had Donna’s Christmas gift covered.  I loved this block so much, I made her two pillow forms.  (and yes, she does owe me BIG TIME). Check these babies out.

img_5421
I also have a church pew in my front entry.
img_5417
Looks like I will be making more for me.
img_5422
Sitting on a chair in my Den….sigh I wish I could keep it.
img_5424
Here they are on the bed in my Guest Room.
img_5425
IMHO, the backs are adorable too..

One of the finest features of this block is that it looks great in a whole bunch of  formats. Woot Woot.  As you probably noticed,  I had to modify things a bit to make the blocks fit the pillow form size (18″)  which is why there is a grey edge stripe on one and a grey cross on the other.   I also decided to give the units a twist-a-roony when I sewed them together because Sister Donna already has 2 churn dash pillow forms, from her favourite sister (me!)  and I wanted to wow her with something completely different.   Don’t you just love it when a plan comes together perfectly.

I think a pattern that’s cute as a button, straightforward AND easy to re-configure is a pattern you should buy.  Don’t you? I knew you did.

The pattern is out in the real world now and because I know you’re gonna want to get yours ASAP, you should visit The Quilt District to get all the details.  Then, you should pop over to Instagram and see what’s happening at #churnedupquilt. I’d love to see your version there.

Did you do something creative today?

5 responses to “I’m just a hunk, a hunk of burning love”

  1. quiltdistrict Avatar
    quiltdistrict

    I love how you gave it your own twist with the sashings and borders and mixing up the happy scraps! It makes me happy that you enjoyed the pattern so much and saw something in it that sang to you. That’s the absolute best fun for me–sending the design out into the world and seeing what comes of it in the hands of creative folks. Thank you, Lady! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rl2b2017 Avatar

    Good Afternoon,
    You are a hoot! I love the title of this post! I had to see what was a hunk of burning love. You and your 13 posts have been slowly . . . ever so slowly . . . turning my head away from my favorite block (the nine-patch) to the churn dash side. Yup, I now agree with all of its good qualities and charms although I haven’ committed to a project yet. That’s a big commitment. This new pattern – I do not see a churn dash at all in it! Not one bit – not a second cousin four time removed (whatever that means) – nada. However, it is a lovely pattern and the quilt is great. Good instructions are so important – no one has time or fabric to waste. Your pillows are another selling point, and I will make my way over to The Quilt District to see the pattern. And I’m looking forward to post #15 regarding the churn dash! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lucie the Happy Quilter Avatar

    The Churn Dash is my favourite as well. I love your funky cushion xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. quiltgranny Avatar
    quiltgranny

    Thanks. Tara Miller is an awesome designer

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lori Brewer-Quiltingneeds.com Avatar

    Love the pattern and the pillows are beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

I’m Velda

Welcome to my little corner of the Internet! Its dedicated to all things quilty and quirky…or anything else that strikes my fancy. I’m glad you took a few minutes out of your day to say hello. I am all about creativity, craftsmanship, and all things made by my own hands.

Let’s connect